Reflections of Time
concerto for flute (piccolo and alto flute) and piano

Composition Date: 2005
Duration: 00:45:00
Genre: Woodwinds, + Keyboard, Flute / Piccolo


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Piano
Click here to download full work (8.84 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Reflections of Time was commissioned by the Sinfonia Orchestra of the North Shore and flute soloist Sarah Jackson. It was premiered by Ms. Jackson in 2005 under the baton of Clyde Mitchell. This six-movement concerto for flute, alto flute, and piccolo is meant to be a reflection of the human experience in the three different time periods: the past, the present, and the future. The soloist acts as a character traveling through each period, reflecting, commenting, and engaging in each. • The first movement paints a picture of the beginning of time, a large and lonely universe in which our character begins their journey. (The opening statement for piccolo is intended to be performed off-stage, preferably with the soloist not coming on-stage with the conductor at the start of the work in order to heighten the mysterious mood and unexpectedness of the source of the soloist. It may, however, alternatively be performed on-stage in a more traditional manner if preferred). • The second movement begins with an isolated and lonely theme, which eventually builds into a bright and open sound, reflecting a more optimistic time period when the world was large, and filled with new frontiers and big dreams. • The third movement creates a light and optimistic mood. A slightly Celtic flavored melody dominates and is developed by both the solo flute and orchestra. • The fourth movement reflects the world around us today: a more chaotic time, where people are always scrambling over and fighting against each other. Featuring jagged asymmetric rhythms, this movement relentlessly drives forward towards an energized conclusion. • The fifth reflects a dark future that could result from our actions today. It begins with a lonely duet between the alto flute and solo cello… a few last rays of hope shine into this bleakness, but which are soon extinguished by the darkness. • The final movement is a look back on the journey. All hope is not lost, and good triumphs in the end. This concerto is available in two versions - the original setting for the three solo instruments, and a second version that has been arranged for flute and piccolo.

Premiere Information:
2006, Centennial Theatre, North Vancouver. Sinfonia Orchestra of the North Shore, Sarah Jackson, Soloist, Clyde Mitchell, Conductor.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 5211 N641ref
  • Genre:
  • Woodwinds, + Keyboard, Flute / Piccolo
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • February 13, 2015
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score ([2] 71 p.);
    73 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
    Parts page count: 24
    Piano Reduction: 73 Pages
    2 parts ([24 p.]);
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Reflections of Time, Concerto for Flute (Piccolo and Alto Flute) and Piano Reduction. Alternate part for flute and piccolo only.
    6 movements:
    I - Prologue
    II - In the Beginning
    III - Of What was….
    IV - Of What is….
    V – Of What is to Come….
    VI - Epilogue

    Commissioned by Sinfonia Orchestra of the North Shore.

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver