snow meditation
for violin, violoncello and piano

Daryl Jamieson
Composition Date: 2011
Duration: 00:05:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), + Keyboard, Misc. String Duos (Mixed)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Violoncello
Programme Note:
On 15 March 2011, with strong aftershocks of the massive 11 March earthquake coming several times a day and smoke pouring from the Fukushima no. 1 nuclear plant, my partner and I made the decision to leave Tokyo and head to Kyoto to assess the situation from a safe, but not too distant, refuge. On 17 March, we went to Daitokuji, a large Zen Buddhist temple complex in the northern part of Kyoto. We sat on the floor of Kotoin temple, looking out into the garden, as the sunlight streamed over the moss and bamboo, and, from another direction, snowflakes gently fell. We sat for a time, thinking. On the way out, I pondered the famous poem which is displayed in every Zen temple:
Great is the matter of birth and death
Life slips quickly by
To waste time is a great shame
Time waits for no one
I wrote this piece in one sitting that evening. Three days later, we returned to Tokyo.

Premiere Information:
14 September 2011, Pharos Arts Foundation’s 3rd International Contemporary Music Festival, Nicosia, Cyprus. Ensemble Musiques Nouvelles.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3226
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), + Keyboard, Misc. String Duos (Mixed)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • March 16, 2015
  • Type:
  • Print-music, published
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (10 p.);
    10 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
    Parts page count: 4
    2 parts ([4] p.);
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
  • Additional Information:

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Reference

  • Printed copies of this title are available from Da Vinci Publishing. Please contact the publisher directly.
    Published by Da Vinci Publishing