MG Encore

Friday, October 16, 2015
Event Title: MG Encore
  • Region: Ontario
  • Venue / Location: The Music Gallery, 197 John St., Toronto, Ontario
  • Time: 7:00pm
  • Price: $25 Regular | $15 Members/Students | $20 Advance at
  • Genre: --
  • External Link: The Music Gallery

The Music Gallery presents
MG Encore

Friday, October 16
Doors: 7pm | Music: 7pm
The Music Gallery, 197 John St.
Tickets: $25 Regular | $15 Members/Students | $20 Advance at

Sometimes it seems like a composition’s premiere is the be-all-end-all, raison d’etre of its creation, so it’s important to give an encore to bright moments during anniversaries like this. Curator Chelsea Shanoff took the lead on combing through the archives of Music Gallery commissions, partnerships, and members of our extended musical community. MG Encore presents a selection of unforgettable works spanning several decades.

Our ensemble for the evening includes Wesley Shen, who performs piano solos by Linda Catlin Smith and Ann Southam. Also included are a chamber music work by Allison Cameron, and an reflection on this city by Erik Ross from Concrete Toronto (2007). a sure highlight of the show will be Nic Gotham’s final work: Miniature Pieces, based on his response to the manuscript of The Search for Heinrich Schlögel. The performance of this piece will pay tribute to Gotham’s legacy as a composer, musician, and mentor. Tying everything together is Toronto-based composer and new music enthusiast Martin Arnold, who reimagines of one of his older works especially for this concert.

Let us take you on a journey spanning forty years of compositions, musicians, and history rooted in the walls of the Music Gallery.


Ann Southam – Remembering Schubert
Allison Cameron – Retablo
Martin Arnold – Rubber Wain
Linda Catlin-Smith – Zart
Erik Ross – Flame Fracture (poetry by Justine Cowell)
Erik Ross – I Am Concrete (poetry by Darren O’Donnell)
Nic Gotham – Miniature Pieces


Piano: Wesley Shen
Clarinet: Mara Plotkin
Violin: Sharon Lee
Cello: Bryan Holt
Sax: Wallace Halladay
Voice: Xin Wang
Percussion: Dan Morphy

X Avant Fest RSVP on Facebook