for solo piano

Dorothy Chang
Dorothy Chang
Composition Date: 2012
Duration: 00:11:30
Genre: Keyboard, Piano, One Keyboard, Two Hands


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
Click here to download full work (7.39 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Five is a set of contrasting character pieces for solo piano, each exploring a different musical concept. "Ephemera" is delicate and fleeting, evoking a tonal restlessness of sorts by moving swiftly and continuously between various pitch collections: pentatonic, diatonic, chromatic and clusters. In "Toccatina", a simple ostinato is introduced then gradually buried beneath increasingly dense harmonisations and layers of counterpoint. The third movement, "Reverie", is inspired by the concept of hyperbole. Beginning with material reminiscent of the Romantic era, the gestures, chromaticism and texture are increasingly exaggerated as the movement unfolds. In the quiet and gentle fourth movement, "Echoes", two voices move in canonic motion, accompanied by soft gong-like punctuations. The final movement, "Quicksilver", features erratic rhythms and angular fragments that develop into an aggressive and explosive conclusion.

Premiere Information:
21 September 2012, Roy Barnett Recital Hall, Vancouver, British Columbia
Corey Hamm; piano


  • Call Number:
  • MI 2110 C456
  • Genre:
  • Keyboard, Piano, One Keyboard, Two Hands
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • May 17, 2016
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (22 p.) ;
    22 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Commissioned by Corey Hamm
    1. Ephemera -- 2. Toccatina -- 3. Reverie -- 4. Echoes -- 5. Quicksilver

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Five for solo piano: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Five for solo piano by Dorothy Chang (Score)
Printed on demand
Five for solo piano
Library Loan