Dawn of Night

product thumb

Price: $13.98


Audio Samples: 
No audio samples associated with this recording
Call Number: CD 1757
Media Type: CD
Year of Release: 2017
Record Label: Centrediscs / Centredisques

Centrediscs is pleased to present:


University of Toronto MacMillan Singers
Hilary Apfelstadt, conductor

Stephen Chatman’s choral music is lyrical and expressive, an effective wedding of musical texts and well-crafted melodic and harmonic writing. In Dawn of Night, the music represents a range of characteristics, depending on the poetry. In this particular collection of music, much of the poetry is by female writers: Joanna Lilley, Christina Rossetti, Sarah Teasdale, and Tara Wohlberg; Walt Whitman and Canadian poet Archibald Lampman are also represented. One of Canada’s most frequently performed composers,

Stephen Chatman, C.M., D.M.A. is Professor of Composition at the University of British Columbia School of Music. With more than 100 published works, his music has sold over 500,000 printed copies and many of his choral pieces have entered the standard repertory.

Conductor Hilary Apfelstadt is Professor and Director of Choral Activities at the University of Toronto where she holds the Elmer Iseler Chair in Conducting. She is also artistic director of Exultate Chamber Singers in Toronto. After first teaching in Canada, she spent three decades working in the U.S., most recently at the Ohio State University. She has guest conducted throughout North America and in Europe and is a frequent clinician with all-state and honor choirs in the U.S. and Canada. The University of Toronto MacMillan Singers is an auditioned
mixed choral ensemble at the Faculty of Music. They have premiered works by Canadian and American composers and sing a variety of repertoire spanning several centuries.


La musique chorale de Stephen Chatman est lyrique et expressive, un mariage efficace de textes musicaux et d’écriture mélodique et harmonique bien conçue. Dans Dawn of Night, la musique représente une gamme de caractéristiques, selon la poésie. Dans cette collection particulière de musique, une grande partie de la poésie est celle des écrivaines Joanna Lilley, Christina Rossetti, Sarah Teasdale et Tara Wohlberg; Walt Whitman et le poète canadien Archibald Lampman sont également représentés.

Stephen Chatman, C.M., D.M.A, l’un des compositeurs canadiens dont les oeuvres sont les plus jouées, est aussi professeur de composition à l’école de musique de l’université de la Colombie Britannique. Ayant publié au-delà de 100 oeuvres, ses pièces se sont vendues à plus de 500 000 copies et un grand nombre d’entre-elles font maintenant partie du répertoire courant de musique de choeur.

Chef de choeur Hilary Apfelstadt est professeure et directrice des activités chorales à l’Université de Toronto où elle détient le titre de « Elmer Iseler Chair in Conducting ». Elle est également directrice artistique de l’ensemble vocal des Exultate Chamber Singers à Toronto. Après avoir tout premièrement enseigné au Canada, elle a travaillé aux États-Unis pendant trois décennies, les travaux les plus récents de cette période s’étant faits à l’université Ohio State. En tant que chef invité, elle a dirigé partout en Amérique du Nord ainsi qu’en Europe et donne souvent des cliniques pour les choeurs « all-state » et les choeurs d’honneur aux États-Unis et au Canada. University of Toronto MacMillan Singers est un ensemble vocal sur audition à voix mixtes de la Faculté de musique à l’Université de Toronto. Le groupe a également présenté en première les oeuvres de compositeurs canadiens et américains et possède un répertoire varié qui s’étend sur plusieurs siècles.

1. There Will Be Stars (3:39)
2. Roses on a Brier (2:02)
3. Night Vision (2:40)
4. Dawn of Night: 1. whisper (2:42)
5. Dawn of Night: 2.hush, hush (4:59)
6. June Night (3:10)
7. Let It Be Forgotten (2:59)
8. The Tree of Song (2:38)
9. Missa Brevis: Kyrie (1:51)
10. Missa Brevis: Sanctus (1:50)
11. Missa Brevis: Benedictus (1:51)
12. Missa Brevis: Agnus Dei (2:30)
13. Forever, Remember Me (2:05)
14. Reconciliation (3:31)
15. A Song of Joys: Shine! Shine! Shine! (3:01)
16. A Song of Joys: My Spirit To Yours, Dear Brother (3:23)
17. The Cold Demands a Silence (3:04)
18. How Still It Is (4:53)
19. Dreams Offer Solace (3:22)
20. Our Garden of Life (3:49)

Release Date: September 15, 2017

Suggest a Correction or Addition for this Product Record