for cello octet

Composition Date: 2018
Duration: 00:14:30
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, String Octets


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 8 x Violoncello
Programme Note:
'Acqua' was conceived as a work for eight cellos (with musicians to be seated in a circular configuration), in collaboration with a small group of dancers. The music’s formal structure draws roughly from Indian classical music, with a slower introduction section, followed by a more rhythmic section—with rhythmic patterns inspired both by Indian classical music, as well as by the music of Mali.The piece is tied to the various states of water, beginning with ice: transparent textures, simple yet elegant ornamentation, plenty of space to breathe—melting into ripples, and agile layers of rhythmic energy and activity. Then, there is the plunge into the climactic section: “Water is the driving force of nature”, wrote Leonardo da Vinci. Water truly is the source of life, too—without it, we would not exist. It is both a subtle and an incredibly powerful force. Finally, the piece transforms into rising “vapour” at the end of the work. 'Acqua' is an exploration of extremes: an ode to the gentle beauty and power of water.'Acqua' was written for and premiered by members of Allegra Chamber Orchestra (directed by Janna Sailor), and premiered at Notional Space, Vancouver, on September 15th, 2018, with dancers (directed by choreographer Linda Arkelian).

Premiere Information:
15 September 2018, Notional Space, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Allegra Chamber Orchestra, with contemporary dance choreography by Linda Arkelian; Janna Sailor, conductor


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3148 K741acq 2018
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, String Octets
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • October 16, 2018
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • Score
    42 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Width: 28 cm
    Parts page count: 69
    8 Parts
    69 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Commissioned by: Allegra Chamber Orchestra
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase


Click here to listen to Acqua for cello octet in Centrestreams.

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Acqua for cello octet
Library Loan