String quartet no.2

Composition Date: 2003
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
Click here to download full work (38.59 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
This piece is based on the idea of two opposing forces: "Dream" and "Reality". It is composed in two connected movements: the introductory movement is soulful and meditative. The string quartet's sonority is displayed in a coloristic and atmospheric fashion. At one time all members of the quartet are challenged to sing and play, depicting the "sobbing souls". The second movement is a continuous outburst of nervous energy. The musical materials are displayed in an unpredictable but connected manner. It is a musical journey of euphoria and wretchedness.

This piece was written for the Penderecki String Quartet, commissioned by the group through a grant from the Laidlaw Foundation.

Premiere Information:
May 10, 2003, Kitchener, Ontario; Penderecki String Quartet.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3134 H678st2 2003
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • November 27, 2003
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (53 p.) ; 39 cm.
    53 Pages
    Height: 39 cm
    Parts page count: 87
    4 parts ((87) p.) ;
    Height: 39 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For string quartet.
    Photocopy; master of score in CMC Toronto, no parts available.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase


Click here to listen to String quartet no.2 in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
String quartet no.2 by Alice Ping Yee Ho (Score)
Printed on demand
String quartet no.2 by Alice Ping Yee Ho (Score and Parts)
Printed on demand
Launch PadLaunch PadCD $13.98
String Quartet No.2: Score and Parts
Score and Parts
(downloadable PDF)
String Quartet No.2: Score
(downloadable PDF)
String quartet no.2
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver