Piano concerto no. 2

Heather Schmidt
Composition Date: 2004
Revision Date: 2003
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (44.12 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Piano Concerto No. 2 was commissioned through the generous assistance of CBC and the Canada Council for the Arts. The concerto was completed in March 2001. In keeping with the traditional concerto structure, there are three movements in the usual fast-slow-fast order. Constant interaction between the orchestra and soloist is featured throughout all three movements, and the third movement is the only one with an extended cadenza-like passage for solo piano. The first movement opens with a brief orchestral introduction before the first piano entrance. Musical concepts and motivic material presented in the first movement are developed further in the subsequent movements. Ethereal textures and frequent meter shifts predominate in the second movement, where changes in orchestration highlight the contrasts of lightness and darkness. The last movement is a virtuostic finale for both pianist and orchestra.

Premiere Information:
May 4, 2001, Open Ears Festival, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario ; Christina Petrowska, piano, Dan Warren, conductor, Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1361 S351pc2 2004
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • February 9, 2004
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (ii, 163 p.) ; 28 cm.
    165 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For solo piano and orchestra 2222/4231/timp, perc(2)/harp/strings
    (2nd flute doubles on piccolo)
    Parts available directly from composer.

    © 2001, revised Jan. 2003, misprints corrected Jan. 25, 2004.

    Commissioned by the CBC through the Canada Council for the Arts.

    Photocopy; master of score in CMC Toronto.
    I. -- II. -- III.
    Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
    Canada Council for the Arts
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Piano concerto no. 2 by Heather Schmidt (Score)
Printed on demand
Piano Concerto No. 2: Score
(downloadable PDF)
TapestriesTapestriesCD $13.98
Piano concerto no. 2You can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver