for solo violin and string orchestra

Composition Date: 2006
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, String Orchestra With Soloist, Violin(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Violin ( Solo )
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
  • 1 x Double bass
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Violin ( Solo )
  • 1 x String orchestra
Programme Note:
Upstream , my first concerto for my first (and hopefully last) husband, violinist Michael Schulte, may be performed with soloist and string orchestra or string quintet. It represents many driving or reflective tendencies of an individual's existence with many varied switches, often sudden, ranging from serious to outright goofy in one section. Bob Aitken says of it, "It's a Liebestraum, you can tell." With this piece I have, for the first time, not followed through on my original concept. I intended for each movement to be built around a different programmatic idea but the piece didn't listen to me. It took on a direction of its own once I started writing. It still has three movements and several themes from the first two movements return in the last. I think of Upstream in several different ways: the individual moves against a current, sometimes with the current, sometimes faster. Sometimes the individual (being the violinist, of course) is witnessed from a different perspective, upstream - visible from a distance and getting gradually closer until arriving and suddenly disappearing. The violin actively fuels the current or flows along with it. Michael will be playing the piece again with string orchestra for the Conductor's Guild Conference at Roy Thomson Hall in 2007, and subsequently in Mexico. The piece was sponsored by Arthur Weisz, Cary and Gabriel Jeremias, and New Music Concerts.

Premiere Information:
November 2006 Glenn Gould Studio Toronto Michael Schulte, solo violin Robert Aitken, conductor New Music Concerts Ensemble


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1611 R521up
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, String Orchestra With Soloist, Violin(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • April 3, 2009
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (59 p.) ; 28 cm.
    59 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    Parts page count: 30
    1 solo part ([8] p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    5 parts ([30] p.) ; (Rental only)
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Solo Violin with string quintet or orchestra
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Upstream for Solo Violin and String Orchestra: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Upstream for solo violin and string orchestra by Abigail Richardson-Schulte (Score)
Printed on demand
Upstream for solo violin and string orchestraYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver