Mount Pleasant sketches
[chamber orchestra]

Composition Date: 2010
Duration: 00:08:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 2 x Horn
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Chamber orch.
Click here to download full work (10.68 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Mount Pleasant Sketches takes its name from a vibrant and beautiful neighbourhood in Vancouver, B.C., Canada. It lies up the hill, on the south side of False Creek, and was one of the oldest areas to be settled in Vancouver, circa 1860. Nowadays, it is a wonderful and eclectic place, where restored heritage houses and shaded tree-lined streets connect with the city’s main traffic routes (Broadway & Main St), as well as the central bike path, and a whole array of funky coffee shops, vintage clothing stores, and sidewalk cafés. It is a place where the sounds and activity of the city meet the calmer, more relaxed areas (those beautiful, tree-lined streets), which are completely transformed when the cherry blossoms come into bloom each spring. The outer sections of the piece reflect some of the bustle of the city, while the inner section (based on a Japanese folk melody, Sakura, meaning ‘cherry blossoms’), reflects the calmer beauty of the area.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1200 K741mo
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • November 1, 2010
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (51 p.) ;
    51 Pages
    Height: 36 cm
    Parts page count: 65
    12 parts ([65] p.) :
    Height: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Chamber orchestra:

    Oboe I
    Oboe II
    Bassoon I
    Bassoon II
    Horn I
    Horn II
    Violin I
    Violin II
    Double Bass
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Mount Pleasant Sketches (chamber Orchestra): Score
(downloadable PDF)
Mount Pleasant sketches [chamber orchestra] by Elizabeth Knudson (Score)
Printed on demand
Mount Pleasant sketches [chamber orchestra]You can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver