Header - Sheet Music

Vitrine des compositeurs

Lubomyr Melnyk: Biographie

Lubomyr Melnyk
1948 -
Région: Prairies

Lubomyr Melnyk

LUBOMYR MELNYK est né à Munich en 1948 de réfugiés ukrainiens. Il a vécu à Winnipeg de 1950 à 1969. Il a reçu un baccalauréat en latin et en philosophie au St. Paul's College à Winnipeg, et fait des études supérieures de philosophie à l'Université Queen's, à Kingston, en 1969-70. Lors d'un séjour à Paris de 1973 à 1975, il gagne sa vie en accompagnant des cours de danse moderne. Plusieurs de ses œuvres composées à cette époque sont présentées dans le cadre de spectacles de danse moderne. C'est à ce moment qu'il conçoit la musique continue pour piano.

De retour au Canada, Melnyk se produit dans les galeries d'art et les espaces alternatifs, en plus de présenter son nouveau langage pour le piano à des conférences-récitals au Canada et en Europe. Depuis le début des années 1970, il a signé plus de 90 œuvres, la plupart pour piano seul ou pour ensemble. Afin d'expliquer le mécanisme permettant de lire la partition et de l'exécuter avec les mouvements des mains appropriés, le compositeur a écrit le traité intitulé OPEN TIME: The Art of Continuous Music (1981) et 22 Etudes, qui enseignent les principes fondamentaux de la technique continue.

Je désavoue les tendances soi-disant avant-gardistes de la musique contemporaine, dit Melnyk, parce qu'elles sont beaucoup trop programmatiques pour laisser la musique pure émerger, et parce que je reste en admiration devant le tissu de beauté qui a permis à Chopin, à Mozart et à d'autres de laisser jaillir une fontaine de splendeur harmonique avec seulement deux notes. La modalité et la tonalité sont tout aussi modernes que la dissonance. Pourtant, bien que la structure de ma musique puisse osciller entre l'atonalité et la dissonance, la musique suit en grande partie le sentier tracé par la technique même de la musique continue, c'est-à-dire des motifs incongrus à chaque main. La technique pianistique exige l'équilibre ultime entre la Gauche et la Droite. Le corps et l'instrument deviennent la Voix, les deux parties formant un chœur harmonique d'activité.

Quant aux influences que j'ai subies, je peux dire seulement ceci: lorsqu'on enlève tout le cirque et le spectacle de la musique, il nous reste une dimension solitaire d'harmonie absolue, raffinée et réduite à sa magnificence la plus dépouillée et la plus grandiose: cette dimension s'appelle Beethoven... Nous sommes trop fiers pour élever notre conscience au-dessus de la boue de ce siècle et regarder la montagne derrière nous. Ou est-elle encore devant nous?

1980

CAPAC (SOCAN)

lubomyrmelnyk@hotmail.com.

Musiflots

Cliquez ici pour écouter toutes les œuvres de Lubomyr Melnyk

Header - Sheet Music

COMPOSER SHOWCASE

Lubomyr Melnyk: Biography

Lubomyr Melnyk
1948 -
Region: Prairie

Lubomyr Melnyk

LUBOMYR MELNYK was born in Munich, 1948, into a Ukrainian refugee family. He lived in Winnipeg from 1950 to 1969, earned a degree in Latin and Philosophy from St. Paul's College in Winnipeg, and did postgraduate work in Philosophy at Queen's University in Kingston, 1969-70. From 1973-75, Melnyk lived in Paris. He supported himself by playing for modern dance classes, and many of the works of his Paris years were presented in conjunction with modern dance. It was there that he began to create 'continuous music' for piano.

On his return to Canada, Melnyk began to perform in art galleries and alternate spaces, as well as presenting his new 'language' for the piano in lecture-recitals throughout Canada and Europe. Since the early 70's, Melnyk has composed over 90 works, mostly for piano solo or ensemble. In order to explain the mechanism of reading the score and performing it with the proper hand motions, Melnyk wrote the treatise OPEN TIME: The Art of Continuous Music (1981) and 22 Etudes, to teach the fundamental levels of the continuous technique.

"I disavow the so-called 'avant-garde' tendencies of contemporary music, because these are far too programmatic to permit pure music to surface, and because I remain in awe of the fabric of beauty which permitted Chopin, Mozart and others to let loose a fountain of harmonic splendour with just two notes. Modality and tonality are both as modern as dissonance. Still, even though my music's structure might slide between atonality and consonance, much of the music's path is given by the very technique of continuous music, i.e., incongruent patterns in each hand. Piano technique, involving the ultimate balance between the Left and the Right. The body and instrument become the Voice, the two parts forming a harmonic choir of activity.

Of influences, I can say only this: that when we have removed all the circus and the spectacle from music, we have left one solitary dimension of absolute harmony refined and hewn to its barest and most awesome magnificence: that dimension's name is Beethoven... Too proud we are to lift our consciousness out of the mud of this century and look at the mountain behind us. Or is it still ahead of us?"

LP recordings of Lubomyr Melnyk
1) K-M-H --- music for Continuous Piano (1978) single LP
2) The LUND-St.PETRI SYMPHONY: continuous music for solo and double-paino----2-record set (1979)
3) POSLANIYE : for soprano and piano with ARRAY ensemble (viola,English Horn, violin, percussion) single lLP
4) CONCERT-REQUIEM;(piano/violin) plus -ISLANDS- for solo piano 1983-84 single LP
5) The Song of Galadriel: solo piano, 48 minutes (1983-85)'
6) LYRREST: for two violas and two pianos (1988) 96 minutes doulbe-LP set

"Melnyk's LP's titled "KMH" and "Song of Galadriel" were listed in The Village Voice in the late 80's as among the 10 records "you can't be without"....

Please note: Other recordings from 1990´s on onwards are available on SPECIAL EDITION cassettes and CD´s --- please contact composer at following email: lubomyrmelnyk@hotmail.com

1988

CAPAC

Lubomyr Melnyk can be contacted at lubomyrmelnyk@hotmail.com.

Centrestreams

Click here to listen to all works by Lubomyr Melnyk