for two violin soloists and orchestra

Jocelyn Morlock
Composition Date: 2009
Duration: 00:07:30
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Multiple Soloists, Violin(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 2 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Piano
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (9.26 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Cobalt - the colour, the element, and indeed the goblin - has a kaleidoscopic array of associations. The element was originally named after a kobold, a mischievous and possibly evil goblin or sprite found in German folklore, for its troublesome nature. (Cobalt is poisonous, magnetic, and radioactive.) Though it is a necessary element found in both humans and animals, in large amounts it is highly toxic, and the cobalt salts used to create this vivid shade of blue in pottery or glasswork can be fatal if touched or inhaled. The luminous cobalt blue of the night sky, just before it becomes completely dark, is one of the most beautiful colours found in nature, yet it is visible only for a very short time every evening. What sustains life can also destroy it; beauty is transient and fleeting.

Premiere Information:
30/04/2009, Southam Hall, Ottawa, ON Jonathan Crow and Karl Stobbe, violin soloists; National Arts Centre Orchestra conducted by Alain Trudel.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1411 M865co
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Multiple Soloists, Violin(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • March 29, 2012
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (30 p.) ;
    30 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    Parts page count: 91
    26 parts available for rent (91 p.) ;
    Height: 32 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Instrumentation: 2222 4221 pno, hp, str, 2 violin soloists

    Commissioned by the National Arts Centre Orchestra and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Cobalt for two violin soloists and orchestra by Jocelyn Morlock (Score)
Printed on demand
Cobalt for two violin soloists and orchestra: Score
(downloadable PDF)
CobaltCobaltCD $13.98
Cobalt for two violin soloists and orchestraYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver